My Life · Recipes

Welcome Fall

Happy first day of fall!  Although, with today’s high expected to reach at least 90 degrees, I must admit, I’m not feeling it.  The average high temperature around Cincinnati for the month of September is supposed to be 80 degrees, while the average low is 55 degrees.  This September has seen temperatures well above the historical averages.  I’m very much hoping that the month of October ushers in temperatures that are closer to “normal.” For October, the average high is 68 degrees, and the average low is 42 degrees.  We shall see where we are at in a month!  I have yet to be able to wear my new leggings, which is sad.  I thought for sure by the last 2 weeks of September I’d have at least a couple of days that were crisp and cool enough to allow for the wearing of leggings.  Unfortunately, it has just been too hot for me to wear anything but my summer clothes or my jeans.

Michael has been enjoying the return of the NFL and Dallas Cowboys.  As you can see, we are still eagerly awaiting the green leaves to transition to fall foliage.

M cowboys jersey.JPG

I didn’t think I would want to wear a t-shirt with a message about my pregnancy on it, but I saw this blue one and I thought it would be fun to have.  It says “Promoted to Mommy” on it!  Plus, it’s a long and soft t-shirt that I can wear with my jeans while the weather remains nice and warm.

mommy shirt hand down 2.jpg

Despite the warm and humid weather we’ve been experiencing, I still felt the urge to bake up something to welcome the season of fall.  Last night, I made 2 loaves of my mom’s Kürbisbrot; that’s German for pumpkin bread.  Growing up, I always remember my mom having freshly baked Kürbisbrot in the kitchen.  We’d enjoy it for breakfast or as a tasty snack in the middle of the day.  Now, when I come home to visit, she has neatly sliced loaves waiting for me in her Polish pottery baking dishes.  The recipe came from one of my mom’s teacher friends.  My mom was teaching in Austin in the 1970s, and one of the German teachers she worked with had the neatest fall fundraiser for the German Club.  She gave her German students the Kürbisbrot recipe, and they each baked 2 loaves.  Then, they brought the Kürbisbrot to school and sold it by the slice.  My mom said the German Club was able to make quite a bit of money from this fundraiser, especially since the students provided the Kürbisbrot, and there was no cost for the club to make it.  The teacher shared the recipe with my mother, and since then it has become a family recipe.  This recipe is great because it makes 2 loaves, and they freeze well, so you can save one for later.

IMG_6954 (2).jpg

Oma’s Kürbisbrot

ingredients-3

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.

Lightly grease 2 loaf pans.

Ingredients:

3 cups flour

3 cups sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. nutmeg

1 tsp. allspice

1 tsp. cloves

3 eggs

1 cup vegetable oil

1 can pumpkin (I use Libby’s 15 oz. 100% pure canned pumpkin)

Instructions:

Mix wet ingredients at low speed until oil is worked into mixture.  Gradually add dry ingredients.

Fill the 2 greased loaf pans 1/2 to 1/3 full.

Bake at 350 F for 45 minutes to 1 hour, or until toothpick comes out clean.

Helpful tips: Make sure you use a mixer (either a stand mixer or a handheld one, I use the stand mixer).  If you don’t, the flour will look like white specks in the bread!  If you find that the Kürbisbrot is too moist in the center after baking, you can try baking the loaves at 300 degrees for an hour and fifteen minutes to an hour and a half.  It just depends on how your particular oven heats things.  I find that an hour at 350 degrees usually works well.

Enjoy a freshly baked slice of Kürbisbrot to usher in the season of fall.

IMG_6956 (2).jpg

If you want to add a little protein to your slice, it tastes delicious with a some peanut butter spread on top.  It’s fun to give it as a holiday gift or bring over to someone’s house if you bake the loaves in disposable foil pans with clear plastic lids.  The pans make the Kürbisbrot an easy-to-transport baked good.  Walmart usually has some cute seasonal and Christmas-themed foil baking sets in their holiday section.  You can also use mini loaf pans if you want to give a smaller version.  Tie a cheery bow around the lid, and you’re good to go.

 

Happy Fall!

3 thoughts on “Welcome Fall

  1. This bread is always a favorite here at our house-all our kids love it. I love it because it makes 2 loaves, and, like you said, freezes well, or give the other as a gift. Happy fall!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very nice blog with tasty ideas for fall weather. Of all the good breads I have tried, Kuerbisbrot remains the all time favorite. I remembered the teacher’s name: (?) Garlic. What a name-right? I cannot for the life of me remember her first name. Our low last night was 67. We were expecting lower temps, but that did not happen. It’s still cloudy so it looks fallish. The girls were all ready with sweaters and boots, but then this morning they changed their minds. It was a little sad, because they had tried on their outfits lost night and they really looked cute. The day will come soon, hopefully. Mach’s gut! Viel Liebe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

