Baby

7 Months

How Big is Baby McLees?  At 7 months, little Michael weighs about 2.5 pounds and is comparable in size to the following: a camping lantern, a bushel of bananas, an echidna, and a cuddly Fennec fox (possibly an ancestor of the chihuahua).  He measures about 15 inches in length.  His brain is developing, and he experiences different sleep cycles, including the rapid eye movement phase, during which he may be having some dreams. Little Michael’s eyes are able to blink and are sensitive to light.

Movement:  Our little one stays very busy.  He is on the move on and off throughout the day and night!  Before, I could usually only feel him when I was sitting down, but now I can feel little kicks and pokes while I’m walking around or standing.  I really enjoy spending time sitting down and focusing on the movements.  Trying to figure out if I’m feeling a foot, elbow, hand, or head is also quite entertaining.  Starting this week, we’ve also been able to see little Michael moving!  My dress appeared to be wiggling on top of my belly when he was moving around.  At my appointment this week, the doctor was able to show me where the head, spine, and bottom are positioned, which was fascinating.  I thought I had been feeling his head, but it was probably his bottom!

Milestone:  Hello 3rd Trimester!  At 28 weeks, I’m officially in the 3rd trimester, and so excited about reaching the last chapter in our journey to meeting little Michael.

Pregnancy Symptoms:  Aack! Check out my lovely feet!

On many afternoons, my ankles are officially MIA.  I can’t help but be amazed with this swelling.  I took this picture at the end of the day.  I had changed out of jeans and into shorts after work, so I had no idea what my ankles had been up to.  I think I’m finding it so incredible because I don’t really feel the swelling; it just kind of sneaks up on me when I happen to peer down at my feet.  I’m now on the last hole when I wear my sandals with the buckles.  Granted, this particular picture was taken after 2 days (last Saturday and Sunday) without exercise.  On the days when I walk, the swelling is less pronounced.

My hands, mainly the left, but also sometimes the right one, tingle throughout the day now, but only ache during the night.  Since my hands are frequently asleep, I don’t have as firm a grasp on the objects that I hold, and I frequently drop things.  My doctor said this is normal for carpal tunnel during pregnancy and to just make sure I am not handling items like fine china or porcelain!   I’ve also been waking up with a headache in the mornings, but it usually goes away once I’m up and active.  Other than that, I’m doing great.  I’m so grateful these symptoms are all normal and nothing serious.  They’re also not painful, and because of that, I’m still able to just sit back and enjoy every moment of being pregnant.

Nighttime:  I have not had any more sleepless nights due to the carpal tunnel, and the wrist splint, always on tight now, seems to be doing its job.  The most comfortable sleep position is when I am on my right side with my left hand dangling off the side of the bed.  I’m back to getting up about two times a night to use the bathroom, but I always fall right back to sleep.

Food I’m Avoiding:  The food aversions I had earlier in the pregnancy have gone away.  This week I enjoyed smoked ribs, fresh salads, and pork chops.  Two or three months ago, I just did not have the appetite for any of these items.

Food I’m Enjoying:  I’ve been munching on Goldfish lately.  My dad discovered that Pepperidge Farm now makes “baby” Goldfish snack crackers.  He brought some home from the store for me when I was in Texas.  I had never seen them before, but what a timely treat!  Aren’t they adorable?  Baby Goldfish have become a go-to snack for this mom-to-be since they’re just so cute!

Helpful Tips from Family:  I should try to put my feet up and keep them elevated when the swelling occurs.  This helps a lot in the evening and feels very relaxing.

Best Moment this Week:  Michael and I really enjoyed our childbirth class.  It was at the hospital where little Michael will be born, so we also went on a very detailed tour of the maternity unit.  We left feeling very confident about the hospital and its staff.

Michael:  When Michael sees me pull up to work in the morning, he comes out of the office, holds the door for me, and helps me with all my stuff: water, breakfast smoothie, lunch bag, purse, etc.  It’s really sweet and thoughtful of him.  He’s also been helping at home by cooking some dinners, doing the dishes, and taking care of the dogs.  Finally, he found this adorable raccoon outfit for little Michael on ebay.

IMG_6775 (2).jpg

I pinned this 3-piece set over 2 years ago on Pinterest, and Michael remembered me telling him it would be a must-have whenever we had a baby.  Since the pin was over 2 years old, I was not able to find it anywhere.  I was elated when he discovered it on ebay.  I think it’s the perfect outfit for our little one, especially given our raccoon experiences and the stuffed raccoon I had as a baby.

What I’m Looking Forward To:  Right now, I’m excited about decorating the nursery and deciding how things will be arranged.  We have so many wonderful baby items from the shower, and I get filled with excitement anticipation whenever I’m working in the nursery.

10 thoughts on “7 Months

  1. Looks like you will soon have your very own rocky coonhead! What a cute outfit. That little one seems to be raring to go,doesn’t he? I’mglad putting your feet up helps the swelling. Viel Liebe!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

